Don't try 90% UML and 10% of coding activities.

Insert valuable objects into the code base

ยท

3 min read

This is an entry to my blog, related with Software Engineering histories and experiences, in this occasion I will expose a little story about working on an Agile team with some Product Owners.

To put in a little more context, I was working as Backend Engineer into an Start Up, the main product for that moment was offer remote healthcare solutions and collect biological metrics using IoT services, like smartwatches to many clients and users around the geographical location where the company was founded.

The team was a small but a very tight one, so every victory or loss will entirely affect all the squad. Even if the technology does not are the same, we demands a very clear communication channel. So, the impact is instantly between us.

One sunny day ๐ŸŒž (my office was located in a tropical latitude), in the middle of a Scrum Planning, a User History was assigned to me and some other members of my team (two or three friends, Frontend Engineers and me), because the project was using a Scrum methodology, I read it and collect the information that I need it, make some questions to the Product Owner (PO), who in the Scrum context he could have the knowledge, in a functional way, about the requirement that I have to become reality in a couple of days.

I have to say that every new Scrum sprint where I was be part, was a little bit of experiment, in that way I can put in practice variants in my workflow, on this particular time I put in my daily task, compose a documentation in a more technical way about how I would make the solution to the requirement.

As you can imaging, in an Start Up, the time is really gold, is really valuable โณ. So before apply that great idea, about document my Software components or flows I think a little bit, because I was investing some time, in the Design stage at the Software Development Life Cycle.

The good part is that I apply it! I invest the next one or two days, using UML Class Diagrams and UML Use Cases Diagrams to expose my implementation.

cover.png

  • Some UML Activity Diagrams that I like to create. Source: Author.

Once I finish it, I schedule a friendly meeting ๐Ÿ‘, with the PO and the Chief Technology Officer (CTO), I explain my implementation about the service that I have become reality. We discuss some edge cases, some concerns and make some editions in the middle of the meet to compose a valid workflow to the User Story.

As an experiment, not everything will finish in the right place ๐Ÿงช.

At the end of the Scrum Sprint, the requirement was done! ๐Ÿบ, but I didn't enjoy to much invest more efforts in the Software Design stage, because I have less time to develop and test Software components.

Another counter part is, what if some other Software Engineering members doesn't know nothing about UML?, then I deliver a documentation that will not apply correct value or impact into the Code base.

The nice part is that the Software requirement have a very strong documentation and members can easily read in a graphical way how the component that I develop was minded.

Well, this is the end of another story that I have for all of you, thank you If you read it!

Ciao, ciao

ย